Introducing Metablog

In a recent interview with Glenn Reynolds, the law professor who writes the popular blog Instapundit, I asked him how the blogosphere has changed since its inception. “When I first started back in 2001, the blogosphere was a relatively small place:  I actually had a pretty good handle on what was going on in general,” he said.  “Now it’s gigantic, and I often run across highly trafficked blogs I’ve never heard of before.”

The premise of Metablog is that exploring some of these sites is a worthy enterprise. Thus I’ll choose a different blog each week, read it intensely, and assimilate the experience into some larger insights about the world of blogs.

My own journalistic career is mostly focused on reading and writing within the political blogosphere. You’ll get some of that here. But I’ll venture beyond its confines too. That’s the idea, anyway, though projects like this often take on a life of their own.

I hope you’ll stay tuned, bookmark this page, and visit often.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

One Response to “Introducing Metablog”

  1. Conor Friedersdorf - Metablog - The Blogs I Found First - True/Slant Says:

    […] I noted in my introductory post, this project is basically going to consist of picking a different blog each week and covering it […]

Leave a Reply

